• May the Medical Scientist Workforce be With You

    All hands on deck for COVID-19 testing in the Mercy Hospital Cork
  • COVID 19 Hidden Heroes

    Preparing specimens for COVID 19 testing in Our Lady Of Lourdes Hospital, Drogheda
  • MLSA AGM 2019

    MLSA Executive Committee at MLSA AGM 2019, part of LabCon 2019 in Kilkenny
  • LabCon - joint biennial conference of MLSA and ACSLM

MLSA Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the MLSA is responsible for the administration of the affairs of the MLSA and the development of the union. The committee consists of ten members elected by the membership for a two-year term, according to the rulebook of the Association. The Executive Committee meets 10-12 times a year. At the first meeting of each new Executive Committee after the AGM, the ten members elect the officers of the committee in a secret ballot. There are four officer roles: Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, Treasurer and Honorary Secretary.


For data protection reasons, committee member contact details are not available on the website but members can seek contact information from Head Office.


The new Executive Committee for 2021-2022 convened for the first time on May 13th 2021 and elected officers for the next year. All of the 2020-21 officers were elected unopposed for a further year.


MLSA Executive Committee 2021-2022






Kevin O’Boyle 2

OLOL University Hospital, Drogheda

Deputy Chairperson

Darren O’Toole 2

Beaumont Hospital, Dublin


Patrick Naughton 2

Mercy University Hospital, Cork

Honorary Secretary

Tom Hesketh 2

Midland Regional Hospital, Mullingar


Colm Carolan 3

Children's Hospital Ireland, Temple Street

Emer Hennessy 1 Mayo University Hospital

Esther McCormack 1

Sligo University Hospital

Jerry McSweeney 1

St. Vincent’s University, Dublin

Hugh O’Byrne 1

Midlands Regional Hospital, Portlaoise

Mairead Ní Mhuimhneacháin 2

University Hospital Kerry


1 Elected to the Committee in 2020 for a two-year term

2 Elected to the Committee in 2021 for a two-year term

3 Co-opted onto Committee in 2021 for a on-year term following the resignation of Kate Donnachie, who was elected in 2021 but resigned following a career change.